Mother and Son are back at it again.

My son talked me in to sharing a space with him at the Patchwork Indie Arts and Craft Fair.  I swore I would never do another outdoor event until now.  I’m supporting his momentum.  He’s working towards independence as a full time artist. I’m also doing it because he keeps me in check on my own vision.  He’s pulls no punches and he calls me to my own stuff.  We all get lost in the traffic of life on the way to our goal line so it’s kind of cool that Mom and Son can do this together.  We actually had a mother-son show called  “The Apple has Fallen”.  I pushed him at the time, and I think I helped him jump start his fine art endeavors.  He’s pushing me now to focus on my wearable art line until I’m completely up and ready to go with my fine art on silk.  This year is the year for me to finalize that.  I am showcasing a couple of pieces on My Abstracts page.

He currently works at as an art director for a big time magazine publisher.   He must be good because he’s been there for quite some time.   I believe he’s highly respected for his tenacity. He’s a guy who doesn’t back down on his reasoning behind his concepts as well as the outcome for all.  I know I’m bragging about my son as a mother would but he’s a mentor for me. You’d think it would be the other way around but we learn from our kids, don’t we?

He’s been going great guns on selling his  digital Beach Cities  reproductions on a daily basis.  He also has two blogs if you choose to  visit the entire left side of his brain at  daveconrey.com and  Wave a Day  I wish I had as much energy as he.  I’ve got my own pace and I’m seeing results from it now.

Below, I’ve added some shots of some of the work I’ll be showing at the Patchwork event on May 15th and May 29th.  The items will range in price from small pouch bags,  ties and pocket squares for men, small scarves to luscious shawls with matching camisoles and ponchos.  Silk wraps are one thing you want to have on your next vacation.  It will also be a great gift for Mother’s Day.

I remember buying a poncho a few years back.  It was a just plain pink with bead fringe.  I got so many compliments on it, year after year.  I decided to upgrade it to a piece of art.  Now, the compliments are more like “Oooh, that is beautiful!”  When I tell them I made it, they can’t believe it.  That’s nice!

 

This red scarf can be worn as a shawl or a scarf, a short pareo,  and a halter top.  It has black koi fish with a intricate border detail.  All MC designs can be custom ordered in colors of your choice.

Speaking of custom, I also will paint silk yardage for you.  If you are an up and coming designer, I would love to help you rise to the top.  Picture one of your designs with hand painted silk.  Bellisimo!

Leave a Reply

