Feng Shui Away

They say that Feng Shui is like a magnetic compass.  I believe in this theory because if I’m not in good standing in my home, my mind starts to spin.  You’re good to go if everything is in alignment and if not things seem more difficult.  For me, I must make my bed every morning before I do anything else.  The rest of the house can be clean but if  there are some dirty dishes in the sink, they will call me to finish them before I start my creative juices flowing. I force myself to get past it and just go to work on my art but I find that it swallows me up.  Unfortunately, I think I could be more productive if I could see past the small things.

Clutter is the worst.  My desk mess must be sorted in to one or two piles before I can open my laptop.  I can be in my pj’s but I must have my ducks in a row.  These little duckies above look like they’ve got it all together and are dancing a jig.  I feel that way once I’ve cleaned up as well.  If I’m a bit stressed, I put on Hawaiian music.  It mellows me out immediately.

I have a friend who told me his wife keeps newspapers, all the newspapers.  He has to walk through hourds of papers when he comes home.  Needless to say, he stays out a lot.  Can you imagine? I could not live that way.  My studio can become a wreck in minutes due to the nature of silk painting.  It has many steps in the procedure.  When I finish a piece and unwrap the foil and paper, I almost have to tear it off the roll of fabric.  I must rinse the fabrics after that.  I’ll be pretty tired after a days work and I’ll leave the papers, dyes and complete mess.  When I go out to start the next day, I want to scream.  “Why didn’t the Cleaning Angels come in last night?”  Argh!  How funny that I just used that term.  I just googled cleaning angels and found out that there are numerous housekeeping company’s called that. I thought I was being original.   I guess I’m not alone when it comes to thinking it would be a godsend to have someone come in and clean.

On that note, I think I’ll go clean up my dishes now and get to work!

Leave a Reply

