Brilliant Beatrice

photoBeatrice is a nurse that lives next door to my sister and brother-in-law in Hawaii. She came by to visit after my sister’s surgery this week. Her husband has cancer as well. She brought a huge arrangement of flowers she picked from her garden. How brilliant she looked. I could not take my eyes off her. I asked her if she would mind if I took a photo of her with one of my scarves around her gorgeous curls. She obliged.

After giving my sister advice about her post op, she sat down and prayed out loud the most fervent prayer. She was like a Shaman who would never be denied the request. It’s not like she has magical powers. No, she’ just believes in God. Beatrice is a bigger than life person who cares for people with her heart. Along with her prayers and many other’s, my sister will not have to worry. There is no more cancer.

The day rolled on with another neighbor dropping by with some banana bread, a friend with groceries from Costco, another friend with a quiche and deliveries of everflowing flower arrangements. Day after day, more girls stopped by bringing an abundance of food and flowers. Yesterday, one of them threw an ALOHA WELCOME party for me as well as a cancer recovery party for my sister. Lemon drop martini’s were flowing and the pool table was set up smorgasbord style with the most gorgeous food. We spent four hours chatting away. It was quite awesome to see and feel the friendships my sister has built.

It just goes to show you that if you SEW YOUR SEEDS early on, you will have plenty of support when you need it most. I know that once I return home, my family will be well taken care of until they are at optimum health.

2 thoughts on “Brilliant Beatrice

  1. What a beautiful lady! Absolutely gorgeous, my friend. I hope all is well with your family by now. Shaman’s prayers are excellent and truly a source of healing. What happened with your sis? Thank you, so much, for staying in touch with these blogs or sharings…I miss you and John and the desert. I’m so homesick it’s just crazy.

  2. My sister is on the mend. No more cancer. Prayers for her husband, Pat are in order still. He’s got a little ways to go but I believe he will do just fine. He’s got the right attitude and everybody loves Pat!

Leave a Reply

